Webp.net-compress-image

A history of the Gasworks and its neighbourhood exhibition at Sunflower House

Opening on Saturday 27 October from 1-4pm at Sunflower House on Foord Road, this exhibition explores the history of the Gasworks on Ship Street and Foord Road, and the surrounding neighbourhood. It tells the story of Foord: from pre-industrialisation and the coming of the railway, and the relocation of the Folkestone Gasworks and the changes this meant for the town. It then looks at the impact that the site has had on its surrounding neighbourhood through its years of productivity, to its closure and beyond.

Pioneering Places East Kent is part of the national Great Place Scheme. It’s an ambitious project that will make East Kent an even better place to live, work and visit by exploring heritage, developing civic pride and connecting artists and communities. Four exemplar projects in Canterbury, Dover, Folkestone and Ramsgate are being led by local cultural organisations to influence policy makers, and encourage any and all of the residents themselves to bring in change and become great place-makers.

Launch: Saturday 27 October from 1-4pm (all welcome, no booking required)

Opening times as follows:

Tuesday 30 October 12 – 4pm

Thursday 1 November 12 – 4pm

Saturday 3 November 12 – 4pm

Tuesday 6 November 12 – 4pm

Thursday 8 November 12 – 4pm

Saturday 10 November 12 – 4pm

Tuesday 13 November 12 – 4pm

Thursday 15 November 12 – 4pm

Saturday 17 November 12 Р4pm

Thursday 22 November 12 – 4pm

Saturday 24 November 1 – 4pm

Thursday 29 November 12 – 4pm

Address:

Sunflower House
45 Foord Road
Folkestone
Kent
CT19 5AE